Is the Spirit Upon You or In You?


As I moved out of Romans 8 in seeing what the Spirit of God brings to us, I began perusing the Word. I found a scripture that I have not spent a lot of time verifying my initial thoughts, so go back and read to ensure that I am not in error.

“The Spirit of the Lord came powerfully upon him so that he tore the lion apart with his bare hands as he might have torn a young goat. But he told neither his father nor his mother what he had done.” Judges 14:6

As I read this verse, I marveled at the strength that he had when the Spirit of the Lord came powerfully on him. You know how we are. We are envious which is a sin by the way. I thought that man it would be cool to have the Spirit come upon me like that, so I could do something strong. Wrong motive.

God had a different take on the matter to share with me. The person referred to in Judges 14 is Samson. Most of know of his notoriety as a very strong man who power or strength came from his hair. More recently, his story was showcased on the television series called The Bible.

Here is what God challenged me with. He said would your rather have the Spirit come upon you or live in you? In reflecting on Is the Spirit Upon You or In You?, I quickly surmised that the strength of Samson came on in bursts. That the Spirit of the Lord did not dwell in him, but came upon him. If I have not learned anything over the past few weeks, I have learned that it is of great benefit for the Spirit to dwell in me. He brings peace with God, direction from God, confirms our adoption as Sons of God, intercession to God on our behalf, gives life to us, and a myriad of other benefits.

We know from our study of the English language that prepositions reveal placement. Upon versus In is a major difference. Upon for me not Samson, connotes intermittent influence, but in connotes constant contact and influence. If we are honest with ourselves and the depth of our sinfulness, it is a no-brainer in desiring to answer the question Is the Spirit Upon You or In You?

In our present lexicon, not leprechaun, the phrase “All In” conveys the level of commitment someone has about their involvement in some endeavor. In terms of Is the Spirit Upon You or In You?, I am “ALL IN”. How about you?

Leave a Reply

