The Spirit Makes You Belong to God


From football teams to fans, people are always looking to belong. People like to name drop as if knowing someone famous or important creates some distinction for them. At the heart of it all is the desire to address the innate need to belong. Most people accept portions of Abraham Maslow’s hierarchy of needs where the process of establishing oneself as a whole person, able to develop one’s abilities and to understand oneself is the destination.

I must admit that I am biased on my perspective on belonging. Whether to family or to friends, I, like many others, have experienced those feelings of wanting to belong. While I grew to be not so dependent on people, that search persisted. It persisted until I met Jesus. It was in Jesus that I truly self-actualized. When you meet your creator, He begins to inform you of who you are and more importantly to convey that He has a plan for you to further develop you.

It  was this sense of development that Paul spoke about in the book of Romans. Paul was addressing the two choices of belonging: whether to belong to the flesh or to the Spirit. He had just stated that those controlled by the flesh cannot please God, so for the believer, our goal is to please God.

Those who are in the flesh cannot please God. You, however, are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if in fact the Spirit of God dwells in you. Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him.”

Pleasing God is a function of whether one is in the Spirit. How is one in the Spirit? I addressed that in the post I Got The Spirit, How About You? Simply, you must surrender your life to Christ as Savior and Lord, not just that one time decision but moment after moment following your initial declaration to believe that Jesus is the Son of God who redeems our life by His sacrificial death.

When I learned I belong to God, my thirst to belong was quenched. Very rarely do I feel the need to make someone believe in me for my own person needs. Everyday, I want to students, parents and faculty to believe in me, but it so that I can accomplish the work God gave me to do. The Word of God is clear “Anyone who does not have the Spirit of Christ does not belong to him”

I, along, with God declare The Spirit Makes You Belong to God.

Leave a Reply

