Knowing the Spirit


God is real guys. When we make a claim about who we are in Him, He will test/challenge us to solidify that attribute in our lives. When I posted about joy, I was face with some situations where God said to me now choose to be angry or choose to embrace and experience joy. As I began posting about Walking in the Spirit, it is no different. There have been circumstance after circumstance to reveal if I Follow the Leader – The Holy Spirit as I posted. God wants us to become proficient and consistent in Knowing the Spirit.

I have said and maintain that God is the master teacher. He can teach you the same principle in a wide variety to contexts. He will construct a different circumstance in order for us to learn the lesson and become more proficient in Knowing the Spirit. One of the Spirit’s responsibilities is to convict the world in regard to sin, righteousness and judgement. He, the Spirit of truth, will guide you into all the truth. Many times, I share with you out of a position of strength, but today, I come sharing out of weakness yet strength. Paul, in reflecting over what Christ told him, said ““My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

How can this be? Let me share with you how. As I wrote the post I Got The Spirit, How About You?, God reminded me of a lie I had told to a very important person in my life. God had given me the opportunity to confess the sin and not be at odds with Him. Because of my sin and failure to confess it to receive forgiveness both from God and the person whom I had lied, I had created a hostile environment with the Spirit of God. God simply told me how can you write this post about I Got The Spirit, How About You? while sitting here on this lie. This is not a sign that you have the Spirit. This is not a Fruit of the Spirit, but an act of the flesh.

I was so uncomfortable as the thought of what I had done, how I had attempted to deceive someone for no reason over an insignificant reason. In Christendom, this is called being convicted by the Holy Spirit. God wanted me to truly know that I Got The Spirit. My conviction and the compulsion from the Spirit to admit that I had lied and to seek forgiveness from the person whom I had lied are evidences of Knowing the Spirit1 John 3 tells us “No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in them; they cannot go on sinning, because they have been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not God’s child, nor is anyone who does not love their brother and sister.”

It was in this, as in every,  instance of sin that God’s grace expressed in forgiveness from God and the person whom I lied demonstrated the Spirit guiding me into truth. It was this weakness that God’ power was made perfect in me. For when I was weak, I was strong. I was strong as I did not continue in sin but followed the Leader, the Spirit of God. While I am not proud to have lied, I am grateful that God’s truth was evidenced in my life. I trust that God will strengthen you out of my weakness. Now, I must focus on telling the truth but remember that regardless of the weaknesses, insult, hardship, persecution, difficulty I am weak, then I am strong. When I respond to the Spirit’s leading, I deepen my Knowing the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

