Presented to God with Great Joy


I believe today will be my last entry about joy. I have learned a lot over the past ten weeks. I have learned that I have been given a privilege to experience joy. I have learned that no one can take my joy away, but that I can certainly give it away by failing to focus on Jesus and walk in the Spirit. I learned that I must ingest the Word in order to give the Spirit spiritual principles to bring to my mind when I am challenged to walk in the Spirit. Remember, I shared this experience in Who for the Joy Set before Him Endured the Cross.

In today’s text, Jude 1:24, we see another source of joy. It is will be the ultimate experience of joy that lasts forever. It will never have to be renewed or restored because we failed to walk in the Spirit. Why? Because we will be transformed to spirit and presented to God. We will be with God for eternity which brings about full and everlasting joy. Listen to Jude 1:24

To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy

That verse is a part of the benediction in Jude; however, it reveals blessings we have. Jude, like the epistles of John, wrote about staying true to God and not allowing false teaching to derail your faith. Jude shares another attribute about Jesus whom he credits as “our only Sovereign and Lord” in verse four. Jesus’ Sovereignty and Lordship are illustrated in several examples in the text, but it was Numbers 16 that captured my attention. It was about Korah’s rebellion. Please read it in the Numbers link.

It gives a context to the benediction “To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy—” The joy I feel is that Jesus is him who is able to keep me from stumbling. He will also present me in heaven without fault and great joy. Imagine that. Do you remember how you felt when your parent told you he/she was proud of you. Jesus, “our only Sovereign and Lord”, will experience great joy in presenting us to God, the Father. I can’t imaging the joy that I will feel, but if Jesus’ is great, I am sure mine will be too. I will be Presented to God with Great Joy. Will you?

Leave a Reply

