Fixed Joy


I want to revisit what was stated in Who for the Joy Set before Him Endured the Cross. So many of you tell me that God crafts a message for you out of what I write. Today, I really need the message in Hebrews 12:2 again.

To remind you, Hebrews 12:2 says, “Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” That is really a mouthful, but it is all worth examining. Once more, I want to focus on our choice and what our choice produces or yields. The choice that the writer of Hebrews calls us to govern according is to fix our eyes on Jesus.

What does it mean to fix our eyes on Jesus? What does that have to do with joy? Obviously, the physical appearance of Jesus will not occur again until his second coming. The writer here is using the symbolism of our eyes to convey what our mental focus should center on as we live this life. Jesus is the model of our belief and behavior as Christian. When we fix our eyes on something, we maintain focus on that which we fix our eyes on. Our eyes don’t move up or down, left or right. They maintain the clear line of sight.

The line of sight on Jesus creates Fixed Joy. Jesus experienced joy because He focused on what would be produced from His suffering. He focused on what God has promised Him. He focused on being able to resume His place with the Father after completing the redemption mission. When we take our eyes off ourselves (selfishness/pride), we can see Christ. We then can seek to respond as He did. Christ was not about Himself. That is evident that He allowed Himself to be crucified for those who did not deserve to be redeemed.

As I shared, Fixed Joy stems from fixing our eyes on Jesus. A few days ago, I noticed that my brakes weren’t working well. I knew that I needed to get my brakes fixed, but I figured I had a little more time. As I drove yesterday, something felt different. I became alarmed because my car was not stopping like it had before. Eventually, I had to resort to dropping the car in the lowest gear to assist me in slowing down. I asked for God’s help. Immediately, He responded. I covered several miles on normally a very busy road by encountering on two cars for several miles. I can’t explain it, but it is true. As I neared home, there was a repair shop on the other side of the four lane road. I really couldn’t stop as I made that turn to go in the opposite direction, but God did. I made it safely to the shop. The master cylinder had gone bad. If you don’t know cars, it is the mechanism that creates pressure for your brakes to squeeze on your rotors which turn the wheels on your car. I am safe to the praise of His glory.

Whether with anger or with danger, Fixed Joy comes from fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith.

Leave a Reply

