Jesus Turns Grief into Joy


I have been sick and still fighting this cold. I awakened several hours than I normally do, so I will not have time to complete these thoughts. We will have to continue tomorrow. Lord willing. It’s not my words though that makes a difference it is The Word of God that does. It’s God’s Word and His promise that His Word accomplishes His will. As such, I give you the Word of God where it is proclaimed that Jesus Turns Grief into Joy. You may want to click the link to read the entire chapter. This chapter follows The Joy of the True Vine and the following shares insight as well.

John 16

19 Jesus saw that they wanted to ask him about this, so he said to them, “Are you asking one another what I meant when I said, ‘In a little while you will see me no more, and then after a little while you will see me’? 20 I tell you the truth, you will weep and mourn while the world rejoices. You will grieve, but your grief will turn to joy. 21 A woman giving birth to a child has pain because her time has come; but when her baby is born she forgets the anguish because of her joy that a child is born into the world. 22 So with you: Now is your time of grief, but I will see you again and you will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy. 23 In that day you will no longer ask me anything. I tell you the truth, my Father will give you whatever you ask in my name. 24 Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.

While I can’t write more, here are a few questions for you to ponder. I know that God planned this truncated my personal exposé. God is awesome and wise.

What solace can you take from Jesus’ proclamation that your grief will turn to Joy?

When is that supposed to happen? Are there conditions for that occurrence?

Why does Jesus compare our joy to the joys of child-birth?

When is it that the disciples would rejoice?

How is our joy completed?

 

 

The blessings of God’s redemption cannot be canceled by any power, human or satanic. The gracious purpose of God ensures the ongoing joy of salvation in the world (John 10:28; Phil. 1:6).

Leave a Reply

