Simple Joy


As I sat reading this morning, I wanted God to answer the question ‘What in the Joy are you saying to me today’.  In waiting for the Lord to tell me what to write about Joy from what I read, it came to me. Today’s post is not so much about a particular text as it is about “the” text, that is the Word of God which reveals Him.

I am sure I will get to 2 Chronicles 20 at some point, but today, God’s message to me and my message to you is that – a message. As I read 2 Chronicles 19 and 20, tears begin to roll down my face. No, I was not horrible afraid or sullenly saddened, but I jaunted in and with joy. It was a Simple Joy that moved me. It was the joy that God is real, that God was and is intimately and intricately involved with our lives. This was the source of my Simple Joy.

I found myself marveling at God’s involvement and intervention in the lives of Jehoshaphat and the Israelites. It wasn’t the enormity of the situation in which God was involved but that He was involved. Remember Psalm 145:18 tells us that “The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.” I stated that we would see an example if I wrote. Well today, here is that truth evidenced itself in Jehoshaphat life in 2 Chronicles 20. After his impassioned prayer, a calling on Him, calling on Him in truth. This is how God responded. Then the Spirit of the Lord came upon Jahaziel who said,

“15 He said: “Listen, King Jehoshaphat and all who live in Judah and Jerusalem! This is what the Lord says to you: ‘Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army. For the battle is not yours, but God’s. 16 Tomorrow march down against them. They will be climbing up by the Pass of Ziz, and you will find them at the end of the gorge in the Desert of Jeruel. 17 You will not have to fight this battle. Take up your positions; stand firm and see the deliverance the Lord will give you, O Judah and Jerusalem. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged. Go out to face them tomorrow, and the Lord will be with you.’”

Isn’t this what we all want? We don’t want to be afraid. We don’t want to be unsure. We don’t want to be without God’s presence with us. This was the source of my tears, my joy. It was a Simple Joy. It was brought about by me seeing God promise that He would be with those who called upon Him in truth. It was my hope that God would be with me as I call upon Him in truth. It was my reminder that God had indeed been with me when I called upon Him in truth. It took me back, going all the way back to July 28, 1985 when I responded to God’s call for me to begin Embracing and Experiencing Joy. That is the day I called upon the Lord to become my LORD and Savior. That day, like Jehoshaphat, I stood firm and saw the deliverance of the Lord. Simple Joy is knowing God, in seeing His deliverance, in being in His presence. Call upon Him in truth.

Leave a Reply

