Your Alabaster Box


Alabaster Box is the 1999 album by award-winning gospel artist CeCe Winans. On that album, there is also song on the album so titled. Yesterday, I was reminded of this song while attending the funeral of my wife’s step-mother. There were a couple of verses that struck me. I knew then that I would write about the alabaster jar from which CeCe’s song revolves.  The scriptural foundation is found in Matthew 26:6-13, Mark 14:3–9, and John 12:1–8

In Matthew 26, notice that Jesus is in the home of a man known as Simon the Leper. Jesus showed His approval of one whom society shunned and excluded. Despite Jesus’ cleansing of Simon, he still is referred to as the Leper. Maybe as an identification matter, but he nevertheless retained some type of recognition with that which plagued him. Along with him is the whom many believe is Mary. Regardless of the negative connotations of their character, Jesus demonstrated His approval of them by being with them.

Moreover, He evidenced His approval of this woman who anointed His head with an expensive perfume/oil as He was days before the Passover. She gave that which was most expensive to show her appreciation of what Jesus had done for her. For Jesus’ intervention in her life, she gave an expensive perfume to anoint Him. In doing so, she affirmed and proclaimed her faith in Jesus as not only her King, but the King who was prophesied to reign for the Jews. There is much more to say about this matter. The most important thing for you to get is how are you demonstrating your faith in Christ. How are you using Your Alabaster Box to evidence your love and commitment to Christ for His intervention in your life? That is if you have had a true, life-changing intervention by Jesus the Christ.

Matthew 26

While Jesus was in Bethany in the home of a man known as Simon the Leper, a woman came to him with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, which she poured on his head as he was reclining at the table.

When the disciples saw this, they were indignant. “Why this waste?” they asked. “This perfume could have been sold at a high price and the money given to the poor.”

10 Aware of this, Jesus said to them, “Why are you bothering this woman? She has done a beautiful thing to me. 11 The poor you will always have with you,but you will not always have me. 12 When she poured this perfume on my body, she did it to prepare me for burial. 13 I tell you the truth, wherever this gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”

Listen to a few words CeCe’s song.

And I’ve come to pour
My praise on Him
Like oil from Mary’s alabaster box
Don’t be angry if I wash his feet with my tears
And I dry them with my hair
You weren’t there the night He found me
You did not feel what I felt
When he wrapped his love all around me and
You don’t know the cost of the oil
In my alabaster box

I can’t forget the way life used to be
I was a prisoner to the sin that had me bound
And I spent my days
Poured my life without measure
Into a little treasure box
I’d thought I’d found
Until the day when Jesus came to me
And healed my soul
With the wonder of His touch
So now I’m giving back to Him
All the praise He’s worthy of
I’ve been forgiven
And that’s why
I love Him so much

To hear the song, depress the triangle below.

Leave a Reply

