Is The Lord my Strength and my Defense


Exodus 14 states, “Then the Lord said to Moses, “Tell the Israelites to turn back and encamp near Pi Hahiroth, between Migdol and the sea. They are to encamp by the sea, directly opposite Baal Zephon. Pharaoh will think, ‘The Israelites are wandering around the land in confusion, hemmed in by the desert.’ And I will harden Pharaoh’s heart, and he will pursue them. But I will gain glory for myself through Pharaoh and all his army, and the Egyptians will know that I am the Lord.” So the Israelites did this.”

Whenever God tells us to do something, we must do it. We must trust him. Many times freedom from God does not make sense, but you can count on God to never leave nor forsake you. Read Moses and Miriam’s song when God had delivered them from Pharaoh when God parted the Red Sea for the Israelites but closed it in on the Egyptians.

The Lord is my strength and my defense;
he has become my salvation.
He is my God, and I will praise him,
my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

I love verse two as it show the progression of increasing trust or faith in God. When we trust in God, it leads to salvation. For them, it led to their physical salvation as they were saved from Pharaoh recapturing and re-enslaving them. In essence, God freed them from slavery. His salvation was also spiritual as I am sure that many who questioned faith in God had their faith confirmed and solidified in that event. Not! You know how we are. Our faith is so pitiful that we seek God to prove Himself over and over despite the unparalleled evidence of His power and might as God and Savior.

You want me to prove it. Moses song is written in Exodus 15. In Exodus 16, we see the people on the other side of the Red Sea moving toward the Promised Land. Remember, God had just done the miraculous. He split a body of water, dried the ground underneath their feet, held water at bay on each side of them until they all had walked through. He then let the water close in on the Egyptians as they entered. Now listen to what the people said in Exodus 16 after that great display of strength and defense.

In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.”

They totally discredited God and Moses denying that truth and creating another truth that was really a lie. They were not sitting around. They were slaves. Life was not good. They were bemoaning their lives there; yet, that’s the lie they created. Do you see why I asked Is The Lord my Strength and my Defense. Moses sang that in his song after God’s great deliverance. Be on the lookout for moments that test our faith after God has done something great in your life. The challenge is coming. You must be definitive in responding to Is The Lord my Strength and my Defense.

Think over your life to see if you too deny God’s truth when you fail to believe because of a little hardship or trial. God is faithful. “God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?” Numbers 23:19 When God promises, he delivers.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

