No Love


After finishing my workout this morning, I opened my email. I saw an email from a buddy referencing a jazz tribute to Erykah Badu. One of her songs, “No Love”, is a commentary of her disappointment of this person’s reciprocation of her love toward her. The need to be loved is one of the most compelling forces in our lives. Mrs. Badu as well as a host of others remind us of that by singing songs that aspire for a higher sense of love in their relationships. In fact, of the two mediations and one fight I dealt with yesterday are reflective of that. In every account, it is a result of a person not feeling valued.

I have a question. Why is it that we, who want love so desperately, reject pure love over and over? One of the most well-known verses in the bible is John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” It is also one of the most ignored verses. Clearly from the text, God loves us. Christ’s death is evidence of that fact. How many of you would die for someone who would ignore, accuse, betray, demean, batter and kill you. I dare say none of us would do that; yet, that’s what Jesus did. I think it is us who showed Him No Love. Despite His continual call for us to respond to His love, we keep looking in all the wrong place.

This is also captured in Waylon Jennings‘ classic county song Lookin’ For Love. Here are a few lines from that song:

I’ve spent a lifetime looking for you
Single bars and good time lovers, never true
Playing a fools game, hoping to win
Telling those sweet lies and losing again.

I was looking for love in all the wrong places
Looking for love in too many faces
Searching your eyes, looking for traces
Of what.. I’m dreaming of…
Hopin’ to find a friend and a lover
God bless the day I discover
Another heart, lookin’ for love

When I was alone then, no love in sight
And I did everything I could to get me through the night
Don’t know where it started or where it might end
I turn to a stranger, just like a friend

How long will we search over and over for a love that never could or would replace God’s love for us. While the character in Mr. Jennings’ song did find some one, I am sure that person could never fill the space in his heart that is only reserved for God. God continues to tell us there is No Love like His love for us. We continue, like Mrs. Badu, to tell people who failed us you have No Love for me. Paul reported in on love in 1 Corinthians 13 where he says, “If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.” Paul further asserts that no sacrifice, gift, blessing or any effort is more important that love. The love we give which we can only get from the Father.

No Love? Know Jesus and you will find the perfect love of the triune God who loved and gave himself for you. Be blessed in His love today.

Leave a Reply

