Do You Understand the Words Coming Out of My Mouth


The title of this post comes from a Christ Tucker movie where he asks that very question. As I contemplated what title the post, this is what came to mind. Paul, after telling the Ephesians to put on the Full Armor of God, asked the Ephesians to pray for him. What specifically did He want them to pray for Him about? It is something that we all, who proclaim that Christ is Lord and Savior, should ask for. See our text for today: Ephesians 6:19-20.

“19 Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.”

Paul, who had a history of fearlessness, asked the Ephesians to pray that he would fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel. Paul asked for pray for words to be given to him to declare the gospel fearlessly. It seems odd that the man who persecuted the church killing Christians before his conversion would be afraid, but he was. As such, he acknowledged that weakness asking for prayer. Let’s not focus too much on Paul’s weakness, but look sternly into ours. What are we afraid of especially in terms of proclaiming the gospel. The word gospel is recurring in this portion of the text, but what exactly is the gospel? The word means good news. The good news of  Jesus Christ or The Gospel of Jesus Christ is that Jesus Christ, the son of Mary while being the son of God, suffered death on the cross to obtain eternal salvation for those in the kingdom of God. He did so by experiencing the consequence of our sin even though He did not sin. After He died, He was raised to life and exalted to the right hand of God in heaven where He intercedes for the saints until He returns in glory and majesty to consummate the kingdom of God.

Paul wanted prayer because proclaiming Christ was His mission as is ours. Consequently, we should solicit the same prayer of fearlessness in proclaiming Christ as Savior and Lord. If you do not know Christ as your Savior and Lord, I suggest that you consider surrendering your life to Him. If you aren’t sure what that means or how that should go, just contact me. I will walk with you as this is my mission. In fact, that was the impetus behind this entire site. I, like Paul asked, want to fearlessly proclaim the gospel. It is fearful some times, but I must proclaim it for I have no higher purpose in living.

May you be blessed today.

Leave a Reply

