How Jesus Prayed


As a Christian, my model for everything I do is Christ. While I fall woefully short of His example, that does not means that I should resign from trying. Consequently, we have been looking at the Word of God and what God is saying to us about prayer. Today, we will look at Mark 1:35 to shed a little light on How Jesus Prayed.

Mark 1:35 – “Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.”

On many occasions, people have asked me why are you up at 3:00 in the morning after reading blog posts or emails. The impetus for my early rising traces back to my reading of Mark 1:35 while I was in college. During that time, my devotional practice encouraged the use of the famous five questions Who, What, When, Where, and How. Let’s use those questions to peer into Mark 1:35.

Who – Jesus

What – Prayer – we must be engaged in going to the throne of grace. God, through Christ, has invited us to pray so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. What a beautiful opportunity to manage what we are unable to handle, figure out, cope with, resolve, etc. God wants to give us mercy and grace to face any circumstance we will encounter. More importantly, prayer is about unifying ourselves through relating with our God – being one with Him as Christ was one with Him. Now, this is something to really ponder. It is mind-boggling, but God invites us to be with Him through prayer.

When –  Very early in the morning while it was still dark. The KJV says it like this “rising up a great while before day” We can surmise that Jesus got up a long time before the sun arose as day refers to light. This time is noted as the fourth watch of the night, from 3 o’clock in the morning until 6 o’clock approximately. Now originally, I was not up at 3, but it has evolved to that on most days. Since school has ended, my body has relaxed and I have been getting a little bit more sleep. Generally though, I am up around 2:40 to 3. I am not advocating that you begin awakening at 3, but I am advocating that you get up when you are freshest and when there are little distractions from those around you or the events of the day that scream for our attention. Matthew Henry submits that is was also after the sabbath which conveys that God expects us to be servants and followers of God beyond the day of worship but worship is demonstrating our love for God by following Him during the week as well as on Sunday.

Where – went off to a solitary place. Jesus went off to a solitary place. Remember, His disciples are with Him. While I had committed Himself to them, it shows the importance of prayer. He went to be alone. There are times when we should pray corporately; however, the vast majority of our time should be alone. It builds our relationship with God. Each believer is expected to build his/her relationship with God independent of others at times. While body life calls us to live interdependently, this alone time is independent of anyone else. This is the time for us to speak to God and for God to speak to us. This is what I share with you when I post. I share with you tidbits of the conversation that God has with me. That is what I am doing at this very moment. I am also alone. My wife and my kids are asleep. It’s just the Lord and me. Spend time alone with God to be close with him. Don’t you want to be alone with that special one or one whom you have not related to in a while?

How – solitary – Jesus prayed alone. Matthew Henry wrote “He prayed, prayed alone; to set us an example of secret prayer. Though as God he wasprayed to, as man he prayed. Though he was glorifying God, and doing good, in his public work, yet he found time to be alone with his Father; and thus it became him to fulfil all righteousness.

Now observe the following verses, the disciples soon began to look for Him because there were demands for Jesus’ time and talent. People wanted to hear Him preach and have Him heal. There are outrageous demands on our time. We really need the alone time with God early in the morning to establish our focus and fuel us for godliness during the day. Yes, we are to walk by the Spirit moment by moment, but that will be terribly difficult if we don’t feed our spirit.

This is How Jesus Prayed. Now, He is at the righthand of the Father interceding for us (Romans 8:34).


Leave a Reply

