Hey God, Are You There?


You may have been asking where have I been. That question is similar to what many have asked God – Hey God, Are You There? As we continue to look into prayer, this one of the more common questions man has in the Word. We all have wondered where God was at one point in our lives or the other. When there is a perplexing circumstance, an overwhelming event, a paralyzing event or some other situation in which we are totally unprepared and unequipped to respond to resolve the matter.

Take a look at several instances where this occurred.

Psalm 10:1

Why, O Lord, do you stand far off?
Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?

Psalm 13:1

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?

Psalm 22:1

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
Why are you so far from saving me,  so far from the words of my groaning?

Psalm 22:2
O my God, I cry out by day, but you do not answer,
by night, and am not silent.

Still there are more. Let’s stop in Lamentations 3. The Word does not explicitly tell us who wrote Lamentations, but the tradition is that the Prophet Jeremiah is credited with composing this text. Again, we hear the despair of one being overwhelmed, but God shows the remedy too. The despair..

1I am the man who has seen affliction
by the rod of his wrath.
He has driven me away and made me walk
in darkness rather than light;
indeed, he has turned his hand against me
again and again, all day long.

He has made my skin and my flesh grow old
and has broken my bones.
He has besieged me and surrounded me
with bitterness and hardship.
He has made me dwell in darkness
like those long dead.

He has walled me in so I cannot escape;
he has weighed me down with chains.
Even when I call out or cry for help,
he shuts out my prayer.
He has barred my way with blocks of stone;
he has made my paths crooked.

Hear now the hope …

19 I remember my affliction and my wandering,
the bitterness and the gall.
20 I well remember them,
and my soul is downcast within me.
21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,
to the one who seeks him;
26 it is good to wait quietly
for the salvation of the Lord.
27 It is good for a man to bear the yoke
while he is young.

God continues to tell us that we must trust, hope and depend on Him in times of difficulty. Rest assured that is His intended end for the hardship whether it is an act of discipline to correct us or whether it is an ordained event designed to purify our faith. God desires to have us to trust in Him. When we ask Hey God, Are You There?, we can be certain that God is always there. The question is are we with Him. God says,” Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts,you double-minded.” James 4:8

Leave a Reply

