God is on the Throne


The post today will be relatively short because some things don’t require a lot of words. Over the past three days, the posts have connected phrases from familiar songs with eternal biblical truths. In Get Up Offa That ThingI Can See Clearly Now, and You’re Blind, the pivotal,primary and preeminent point is that The Answer Lies in Christ.

For some weeks now as Southwest Christian Fellowship, Pastor Benson has been preaching through Hebrews. I distinctly remember him saying that the point of the text is to show that Christ is better: better Word, better representation of God, better than angels, better high priest, better rest, better in and for everything. As we sang songs in church yesterday,  I heard God speak to me.  I heard I am better a little differently. God simply said to me I AM ON THE THRONE.

The Answer Lies in Christ not only in Hebrews but for our lives too. God simply told me to rest in the fact that He is on the throne. This means that God is in control or in charge. For the believer, this is an elementary truth yet often forgotten. When life’s circumstances assails you, remember that Christ is on the throne. 2 Chronicles 21:7 says, “7 Nevertheless, because of the covenant the LORD had made with David, the LORD was not willing to destroy the house of David. He had promised to maintain a lamp for him and his descendants forever.” It verifies what 1 Chronicles 17:10b-14 says, “I declare to you that the LORD will build a house for you: 11 When your days are over and you go to be with your fathers, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, one of your own sons, and I will establish his kingdom. 12 He is the one who will build a house for me, and I will establish his throne forever. 13 I will be his father, and he will be my son. I will never take my love away from him, as I took it away from your predecessor.14 I will set him over my house and my kingdom forever; his throne will be established forever.

Christ is the fulfillment of that promise God made to David.   We see it in Matthew 25:31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his throne in heavenly glory.” This fulfillment should lead us to exclaim “There is no one like you, O LORD, and there is no God but you, as we have heard with our own ears.” 1 Chronicles 17:20  Again in Hebrews 1, the writer says

8 But about the Son he says,

   “Your throne, O God, will last for ever and ever,
and righteousness will be the scepter of your kingdom.

We are told in Revelation 7 that

9 After this I looked and there before me was a great multitude that no one could count, from every nation, tribe, people and language, standing before the throne and in front of the Lamb. They were wearing white robes and were holding palm branches in their hands. 10 And they cried out in a loud voice:

   “Salvation belongs to our God,
who sits on the throne,
and to the Lamb.”

 11 All the angels were standing around the throne and around the elders and the four living creatures. They fell down on their faces before the throne and worshiped God, 12 saying:

   “Amen!
Praise and glory
and wisdom and thanks and honor
and power and strength
be to our God for ever and ever.
Amen!”

God is on the Throne. Just remember that He is in control.

Leave a Reply

