What’s in “the name”?


As I sat here last Monday, (2.7.11), I wrote about joy in the post What gives you joy? The Name of Jesus. I was seeking to identify various ways that followers of Christ experience true joy.  As the week went on, I, for the life in me, could not remember what I believed the next writing assignment was for me, so I prayed asking God to show me what He wanted me to write about.  If you ever want to see how God speaks to His people, keep reading.

As I prayed, I really was not looking, but God heard me and answered many times before I got the message.  First, I have begun co-teaching children’s church.  In preparation for the lesson, my partner, Kim, emailed me the lesson (2.10.11), “Y” IS FOR YHWH (LORD). It is pronounced ”Yahweh” in Hebrew and is translated as “LORD”in English.  The lesson asked why does God use a personal name? It answered with God wants His people to know Him as a specific and unique Person, not just a common god. He desires to make Himself known to His people: to be their God, their friend, their hope as He draws them into an intimate and loving relationship with Himself.

On Friday (2.11.11), I saw the email from Pastor Benson giving us the title of the sermon for Sunday, The Name of Christ from Colossians 3:17.  Still, I did not get it. I am sure that there were other communiqués that I missed.

On Saturday (2.12.11), I had made my wife Valentine’s Dinner.  As we sat and ate, she began to choke and was incommunicable.  I ran to her to attempt to dislodge the food, but she put her hand out to say NO, don’t do that.  I quickly asked a barrage of questions in efforts to find out what was the problem.  She shook her head no as she struggled to breathe.  As I heard my kids concern, felt my helplessness and saw life coming to an end, I just called on the name of Jesus to help her.  At that, my wife’s struggle to breathe ceased.  She told me that as soon as I said “Jesus” the water that had gone down the wrong way cleared and she was able to breathe.  While we certainly stopped, prayed, and gave thanks.  We even gloried in calling on the name of Jesus with our kids, but still I did not sense that’s what God was calling me to write about.

On Sunday (2.13.11), my family and I went to church.  It seemed that almost every song we sang mentioned the name of the Lord, Jesus or God. I wanted to get copies of the song sheet that listed the songs, but I was in Children’s Church and did not get a chance to get them.  By now though, I was getting the message.  At the end of one of the songs, I went up to Pastor Benson and told him that God had saved my wife’s life yesterday especially when I called on the name of Jesus.  He responded saying that must be what she had to tell me about.  Well, my wife, who is abashed by singing and speaking before crowds especially the church, came forward to give her testimony about what God had done when His name was called.

When I left the sanctuary to go to Children’s Church, Kim and I just looked at each other in amazement of how God had aligned everything in the service to make a point to the kids and us about what’s in “the name“.  We both marveled at the precise orchestration of the songs, the sermon, the lesson, the lesson’s verses (see below) and the events from my wife’s rescue.  It was clear that God was telling me that I need to focus on His name, so that is what I will be writing about over the next few days.  I hope though to not only write about it but to live it and experience it.  It is so powerful, rewarding and fulfilling when we experience God at work in our lives.  He is always at work, but we are not always aware of His mighty working in our lives.

What’s in “the name”?  Let’s look at these two verses.

I am the LORD;that is My name. ISAIAH 42:8a
LORD: Yĕhovah Jehovah = “the existing One” 1) the proper name of the one true God

Those who know Your name will trust in You. PSALM 9:10a
name: shem 1) name a) name b) reputation, fame, glory c) the Name (as designation of God) d) memorial, monument

What’s in the name? For me, it is the life of my wife, my best friend, the mother of my kids.  What’s in the name?  Power to meet our needs.  Be blessed today.  If you don’t know Jehovah’s name, ask Him to let you get to know Him.  If you do, call on the name of the LORD for He never forsakes those who seek Him.  Let’s seek Him.

Leave a comment